• View of the Millennium Bridge on a sunny day in London with St. Paul's Cathedral in the background.

    River Thames
    Bike Tour

    "Four-plus hours of riding bikes (and feeling completely safe, despite going over two bridges, including bustling London Bridge),
    including an hour for wandering, drinking and eating at Borough Market. "

    j.m., canada

  • View of the Millennium Bridge on a sunny day in London with St. Paul's Cathedral in the background.

    River Thames
    Bike Tour

    "Four-plus hours of riding bikes (and feeling completely safe, despite going over two bridges, including bustling London Bridge),
    including an hour for wandering, drinking and eating at Borough Market. "

    J.M., CANADA

  • View of the Millennium Bridge on a sunny day in London with St. Paul's Cathedral in the background.

River Thames Bike Tour

River Thames Bike Tour

  • Best Seller
  • Great Photo Ops
  • Expert Tour Guide

Enjoy the River Thames Bike Tour.

Explore ‘liquid history' and breathtaking urban landscapes by cycling both banks of London's famous river.

With smaller groups, a different route and a focus on the people's history, this tour is the perfect complement to our Royal London Bike Tour. Our tour guides offer legend and fact about a city that has united against Great Plagues, Fire and War, while developing into the cradle of modern civilization and commerce. For lunch, we invite you to wander through the aromas of London's oldest and largest food market (not included) before cycling across Tower Bridge and embarking on an incredible adventure.

  • Approximately 4 hours
  • City Tour
  • Normal
  • Morning
    • Bike
    • Helmet (provided but optional)
    • Stop for cafe (cost not included)
  • Adults €35.46
    Students (18-25) €33.10
    Children (12-17) €33.10
  • This tour meet directly outside Southwark Underground Station (Jubilee Line) where you will see your guide with one of our beach cruiser style bikes and holding a sign.

  • English
  • 16
  • The River Thames Bike Tour spends more time on roads than our Royal London Bike Tour therefore we recommend this tour for those aged 12 and older. Due to safety concerns for all riders, children under 12 will not be permitted on tour. The cycling is not intimidating or strenuous but if you are not a confident cyclist our Royal London Tour will be the better tour for you.

  • Approximately 4 hours
  • City Tour
  • Normal
  • Morning
    • Bike
    • Helmet (provided but optional)
    • Stop for cafe (cost not included)
  • Adults €35.46
    Students (18-25) €33.10
    Children (12-17) €33.10
  • This tour meet directly outside Southwark Underground Station (Jubilee Line) where you will see your guide with one of our beach cruiser style bikes and holding a sign.

  • English
  • 16
  • The River Thames Bike Tour spends more time on roads than our Royal London Bike Tour therefore we recommend this tour for those aged 12 and older. Due to safety concerns for all riders, children under 12 will not be permitted on tour. The cycling is not intimidating or strenuous but if you are not a confident cyclist our Royal London Tour will be the better tour for you.

  • Approximately 4 hours
  • City Tour
  • Normal
  • Morning
    • Bike
    • Helmet (provided but optional)
    • Stop for cafe (cost not included)
  • Adults €35.46
    Students (18-25) €33.10
    Children (12-17) €33.10
  • This tour meet directly outside Southwark Underground Station (Jubilee Line) where you will see your guide with one of our beach cruiser style bikes and holding a sign.

  • English
  • 16
  • The River Thames Bike Tour spends more time on roads than our Royal London Bike Tour therefore we recommend this tour for those aged 12 and older. Due to safety concerns for all riders, children under 12 will not be permitted on tour. The cycling is not intimidating or strenuous but if you are not a confident cyclist our Royal London Tour will be the better tour for you.

Tour Highlights

  • The London Eye
  • Big Ben
  • Tower Bridge
  • St. Paul's Cathedral
  • The Tower of London
  • Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
  • London Bridge
  • Borough Market
  • The Monument
  • Leadenhall Market

FAQ

  • Expand/Collapse What is your cancellation policy?

    We have a 72 hour cancellation policy for a full refund. If you miss the tour for any reason, we'll gladly reschedule you on another available tour anytime for up to a year. If you can't make it, it is a good idea to email us ahead of time.

     

  • Expand/Collapse Where is the meeting point?

    The morning and evening tours meet directly outside Southwark Underground Station (Jubilee Line) where you will see your guide with one of our beach cruiser style bikes and holding a sign.

     

  • Expand/Collapse Is this tour appropriate for children?

    We're a great family activity in London, however we recommend our River Thames and River Thames Evening Bike Tours for those aged 12 and older. Due to safety concerns for all riders, children under 12 will not be permitted on tour. 

    Children under 16 years old must be accompanied by an adult on the tour.

    • Unfortunately, we do not have adult tricycles, tandems, or bikes with training wheels for adults or children that may be less confident in their riding ability.
    • Our city tours are very casual, with only slight elevation changes on varying surfaces including smooth gravel and pavement. It is necessary, however, that any person participating in our bike tours have at least some bike riding experience, and should be comfortable riding in a group.
  • Expand/Collapse Do tours run all year round?

    The River Thames tour is by reservations only. Please check the scheduling info on the tour page. Basically, if you can book it on our website, we're running it. And if not, do consider a private tour - if you have a decent size group (7+) or are willing to pay slightly more for the privilege, we will gladly create a bespoke tour for you at any time of the year.

     

  • Expand/Collapse Are reservations required?

    A reservation is required due to a limited number of spaces on the tour.

     

  • Expand/Collapse Is the tour difficult?

    There is a lot more road riding on this tour so you must be confident on a bike. It is not strenuous but is a little bit longer and a touch more intimidating than our Royal London Tour.

     

  • Expand/Collapse What is your weather policy?

    We run tours rain or shine and have plenty of rain ponchos. We find tours in the rain to be a different kind of fun and an even more fun memory! If you have a reservation and the weather is really bad, you are welcome to reschedule the tour for any other day for up to year.

     

  • Expand/Collapse Do we stop for lunch?

    Yes. On Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays we stop at Borough market, London's oldest and most atmospheric food market, which has a huge selection of food from around the world. There is also the opportunity to have a pint at a pub. On every other day you will have the option of cafes, a fish & chip restaurant or a pub.

     

  • Expand/Collapse Do we go inside the museums and monuments?

    No, the bike tours are an overview of the sites and more about getting a feel for the city. However, on private tours you can arrange to take extra time at the sites if you'd like to go inside.

  • Expand/Collapse Will we be able to take photos?

    Yes. There will be a chance to take many photos at the designated stops.

  • Expand/Collapse Is there a space to store bags or luggage?

    Yes. You are welcome to leave bags, luggage or unwanted family members in our garages. Someone is usually in the office and it will be locked up if they have to leave. While we have never had a single case of theft or loss of items, you do leave them at your own risk.

  • Expand/Collapse Do you provide the bikes?

    Absolutely.

  • Expand/Collapse Can I supply my own bike?

    You are welcome to bring your own bicycle and will receive a discount of 10%. Our insurance only covers the theft of our own bicycles, so please do bring your own lock for the lunch stop.

  • Expand/Collapse Is a helmet included?

    Yes. You are not compelled by law to wear helmets in the UK, but we have more than enough for everyone so the choice is entirely yours.

  • Expand/Collapse Do you rent bikes?

    Yes, but, you must contact us ahead of time, especially during the summer when all the bikes may be taken up on the tours.

  • Expand/Collapse Can you suggest a bicycle repair shop in London?

    Our very excellent mechanic, Alex, is available to work on your bike so please feel free to get in contact with us if you would like to book your bike in with him: http://www.lezcycles.com/about.html

  • Expand/Collapse Still have questions?

    We're here to help! Give us a call at (0)788-233-8779 or send us an email at [email protected]

Traveler Photos

River Thames Bike Tour Reviews

RIVER THAMES BIKE TOUR is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 169.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, intimate tour This tour was fantastic; our guide was really knowledgeable and kind. The group size was perfect, providing a small, intimate feeling. And biking is surely one of the best ways to see a city, especially one as big as London.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great day out Having done a couple of great Fat Tire tours in Berlin a few years ago we thought we'd take the opportunity to do one during our recent visit to London. Apart from the fun of cycling we really enjoyed visiting places we'd not have discovered ourselves and learning more about the many iconic London landmarks. We really enjoyed learning about places we'd otherwise have overlooked including the OXO building on the riverbank.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from London highlights Our guide did a great job of explaining the cultural significant sites on an easy 8 mile ride. Lunch at Burough Market was a highlight.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to see the city!! This is our third Fat Tire tour. We had friends visiting and came to London with them. I knew we needed to do a bike tour, and it didn’t disappoint! The history you learn on these tours is amazing!!
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bike ride We had a great time on the Thames river bike tour! We have done many tours with Fat Tire in multiple locations and they all have been 5 star.
Date published: 2018-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Guide This was the first time I had done a biking tour. This one, along the Thames, was recommended to me by a friend. It was lovely! Our guide, Oli, was really knowledgeable about London and its history. He made it very interesting and kept us engaged even through the rain! I am definitely a fan of Fat TIre and will be going on a biking tour again.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable interesting bike tour Having done the Royal London bike tour last year with my 12 yr old granddaughter I knew this would be good and wasn’t disappointed. Our knowledgeable guide made the tour interesting and fun taking us along safe roads and alleys to reach our destinations. We even rode our bikes across Tower Bridge. Brilliant way to see London.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great introduction to London Great introduction to London. Loved the Borough markets.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the bike tour was great! I did much appreciate the service; I had sent an email 2 days before to change the schedule, your organization replied immediately and fixed a new date. The tour was nice along the Tames and the comment was interesting. We also liked to eat a small bite on the food market, otherwise we would never done that.
Date published: 2018-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tour of the River Thames We had an awesome experience in this tour. The tour guide, Oli was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Excellent sites and an easy ride for all. Loved that we stopped at the Borough Market for lunch. This was my forth tour with this company. Every single experience from London to Paris to Berlin to Barcelona was second to none. Thanks Fat Tire for making our travel experiences something to remember!!
Date published: 2018-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Way to Explore London We booked a 4 hours guided bike Tour for 3 generations of our family in the age of 12 to 72 years old. It was a great Way to explore London and everybody enjoyed the East viking around AND our entusiastic guide David Sharif stories and places with us, which we would lever be able to find by ourselves. I highly recommend this Tour for everybody - it was Great !
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! I WILL DO IT AGAIN We had a very nice experience. Daniel the guide was excellent in leading us When bikini in the street and so interesting in all his historical speeches. For sure I will repeat this with my sons and will do other tours. Well done fat tires!!!
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great sightseeing, but not so exciting We toured the River Thames and it was a great way to see the highlights of the city. However, bikes were not the best, and the tour guide could improve his commentaries and narrative. He was knowledgeable of everything, but there were parts that his storytelling got boring. Also, I did not like how he advance in some road when cars were coming
Date published: 2018-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great guide and Great tour! I travelled to London for the first time with my two teenage daughters. We loved the tour and learned so much!
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistently good I have been on two tours with Fat Tires, Berlin and London Thames. Both were just the right mix of solid history, local myths and gossip. Our guide Joe, was funny and engaging. He had a few problems with his bike but managed to run a cycle maintenance class whilst seamlessly delivering the tour guide. Quite a feat. Get Joe a new bike ! The routes are well thought out and although there was a bit of people dodging on the Southbank in London we felt safe from traffic. I have done the tour with friends and teenage family, both age groups enjoyed it and I would highly recommend Fat Tire tours
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The highlight of our time in London! Soooo Happy we booked the Thames River bije tour with Fat Tire Tours! What an awesome way to wrap up our final day in London. Daniel was awesome...full of ihistorical knowledge mixed with contemporary insights, entertaining, engaging, and just a lot of fun to be with. Our kids (14 and 13) especially loved the tour and begged to do more bike tour for the rest of our trip! Highly recommend this tour, our guide Daniel, and Fat Tire Tours
Date published: 2018-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great landmarks, amazing guide, very complete tour It was a great great tour. Nothing was left. From the London Eye, the National museum, The Tower of London to the Tower Bridge, the Dome Theater etc... not a single landmark was missed with amazing, funny and fascinating stories by Ollie who was the most interesting guide ever. Lunch stop was at Borough Market, where we had some great lamp wraps, tasty stilton cheese and one of the best fish and chips ever. Truly one of the highlights of our stay in London. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Tour You Need To Take I passed the guide while walking and had to stop and listen to his tour it was so interesting. I booked a tour the next day and saw and learned more about London than I ever would have on my own or on the top of a tour bus. Actually being IN the thick of things gives you a real life experience like a local.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Fantastic Fat Tire Tour!! Andrew did a great job of leading our small group through the pedestrians and traffic along and across the Thames. He was a wealth of information and had a great sense of humor. We had a bit of free time at lunch which was fun as well. We never would have attempted to bike across the Tower Bridge on our own, but Andrew guided us safely through the traffic and crowds. What an experience! We also saw and learned about places we would not have seen without being on this tour. This was our sixth Fat Tire Tour, and we are hooked!!!
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great guide and fun route We signed up for a Riverside tour at a friend's suggestion. We were not disappointed. The tour was well organized, the route was interesting and fun to ride and the guide, Nick, was very friendly and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike tour along The Thames This was our second bike tour with Fat Tire - the first was a tour of Versailles. Our guide - Daniel - was fantastic! He shared so many interesting facts along the way, kept the group safe on the “bike super highway of London” and was a pleasure to spend 4 hours with. Would definitely tour with Fat Tire again!!
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good experience, also for grandparents! This is the third time we have taken a grandchild on a Fat Tire Bike Tour. The previous ones were in Versailles and Berlin. Both we and the children enjoy the biking, the guiding and the stops for lunch. And we are amazed how the guides are able to lead a group in traffic, and their knowledge of the sights. So if we are still going strong in a couple of years when our fourth grandchild will be confirmed, we will book another tour.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Guide Loved the tour. Highly recommand it to everyone going to London
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thames River Bike Ride Nick was our Guide. The group was large and he managed us very well. His info seemed current and historic. I am really pleased i had this tour
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Experience Wonderful tour .... perfect mix of riding, history and observing the sights. One suggestion is a few more minutes for photos by Tower Bridge. Daniel was an excellent leader, focusing on safety while sharing lots of interesting tidbits.
Date published: 2018-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tour I have done many fat tire bike tours and this one was fantastic. My husband and I only had 3 nights in London and doing this tour is a must. Daniel did an awesome job helping us navigate the city and helping us get an amazing Big Ben photo even though it was under construction. Would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to cover a lot of ground in 4 hours!
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highlight of our London vacation We booked this tour on the recommendation of a friend, and as first-timers to London .. it was truly one of our highlights. Highly recommend the tour along the Thames - we ate at the Borough Market for lunch, super cool. Our tour guide Daniel was simply the best - with a sense of humor, very relaxed, and lots of knowledge. There were four of us, my husband and I, And our two daughters ages 20 & 18. We would definitely do a Fat Tire Bike Tour again!
Date published: 2018-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Tour Experience! This tour was our favorite activity that we did when we visited London. Our guide was excellent and we felt like we got to see parts of London that we would have never seen if not for the tour.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great guide and route The ride brought the Thames to life with stories, exploration and great food at Borough Street Market. A real treat!
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting tour of London! This tour did not disappoint! The route was manageable while still being scenic. We got to explore many areas throughout the city- many we felt we wouldn't have had the chance to otherwise! Additionally, the tour group was small which made us feel safe. Finally, our guide was a fantastic. He was super enthusiastic and knowledgable, and made the tour but fun and educational. Just to note, the tour was roughly 5 hours which we particularly enjoyed. I would highly recommend!
Date published: 2018-07-05
  • y_2018, m_10, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_169
  • loc_en_GB, sid_27, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_fattirebiketourslondon
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 340.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Questions & Answers

Similar London Bike Tours